The Value YOU Add

I have been so moved by all of you who shared my post and even took the time to comment here. You showed me I’m not alone. That you stand with me and I with you. I feel it! So, let’s stand and say it together, to each other. In a way only teachers can! And I will tell you what you have told me — what you do is amazing!

It’s time. For teachers to make our voices heard.

It’s time. For us to tell our stories. Our students’ stories.

It’s time to show the world what we’re worth. Let’s face it, it’s overdue.

Blog it. Take videos. Pictures. Post on Facebook. Twitter. Tumbler. Your local paper. You are immensely creative and daring daily β€” you create lessons, design charts, decorate and redecorate whole classrooms overnight, take 5-year-olds and 14-year-olds on field trips, and SO much more. So, I don’t need to tell you what to do or how to do it. You already can dream up more than any reformer can pretend to. And now there is a rare chance to do it together. In a fun way to boot.

All it takes is one sentence. One video or photo of you, or your colleagues. One colorful chart with your painstakingly-constructed handwriting. One quickly-jotted comment on a napkin you photograph and share. One re-post or share of someone else’s statement on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, etc. to get our voices echoing together to say: I will tell you the value I add. I will tell you why this Data-craze doesn’t even begin to touch on the worth of what I do. I will not let you use the complexities of my classroom against me, undermining and erasing the true value I add.

We are teachers because we are passionate about learning. About the future. About change. These tests aren’t “bad” simply because they are transforming our work day or work load. Pffft — we’re used to that. What we know that not enough others seem to know is that their overemphasis, high-stakes and decontextualized, ill-informed data are dangerous because they are reshaping the present quality of life for our students and the whole future of what education is going to look like. But you and I, our colleagues, both current and retired, concerned parents, and even our aware students don’t want to stand by and just let it happen. To our jobs. Our students. Our children. All of which we love.

So, show me. Show each other. Show “them” what we’re worth. You can start by sharing and reposting this.

You can link to what you do below in a comment. I can’t wait πŸ™‚

(below are two from friends!)

20120319-123334.jpg

20120320-082015.jpg

7 thoughts on “The Value YOU Add

  1. I resonate so much with what you’re saying about the “intangibles.” As a second-year teacher who happens to be starting this career in mid-life, I’ve been absolutely appalled at the emphasis on data. I think the best thing I’ve done all year is let a little girl with spina bifida play on the school playground for the first time.

  2. Pingback: Remainders: School’s-eye-view of blended learning in the Bronx | GothamSchools

Leave a Reply

