My Nominees for the Edublog Awards 2011

I have always seen blogging as a communal and personal experience; a way for individuals to come together and share, inspire, create and express. So, I have always been opposed to the idea of giving awards because I feel it changes what blogging has always been about for me. Yet, I do feel there are those bloggers who deserve recognition for their efforts and contributions, and for sharing in a way that moves people to perform better in this, the world’s most important profession.

For his efforts in blogging frequently and for the optimistic, Mr. Rogers-esque glow his blog emits, I nominate From the Desk of Mr. Foteah for Best Teacher Blog. He is a teacher blogger who consciously and consistently tries to inspire others and lift the profession up to new levels through his now daily postings. Because of his post, 10 Reasons Your Students Should be Blogging, my class began commenting on his students’ blogs and they started writing their own. They have found an authentic purpose and new motivations for their writing that hadn’t existed before.

For Most Influential Post, I nominate A Global Classroom Is Born. I have never been more awe-inspired and excited by a post. The immensity and sincerity of their project is almost intimidating, but it shows what happens when teachers listen effectively to their students to learn from them, and then broaden their potential for learning to a literally global level. I wish I had seen it earlier.

For Best Resource Sharing Blog, I nominate Larry Ferlazzo’s Websites of the Day for Teaching ELL, ESL & EFL, because there is not a single blog I, as an ESL teacher, recommend more often to different teachers. He is also responsible for the ESL/EFL Blog Carnival, which I was lucky enough to host on my other blog, My Life Untranslated, which is yet another way Mr. Ferlazzo moves others to share and connect within our community.

Lastly, I’d like to recommend Dropbox as the best free web tool. It has saved me more time and headaches in trying to figure out where to put all the documents i create and website resources I find and want to reuse.

Leave a Reply

